#35) Cameras and Karma

Note: this is a Simulblog, posted on both D-Theory and Nature Pic Mercenary.

I’ve officially caught my first big break of 2012.  Later this year, if I catch myself bemoaning not having enough of my photos downloaded, I would be well served to consider that I’m lucky to even have a camera.

After teaching for three hours in Santa Monica, I went back to my car–and noticed that the trunk was open.  Perhaps I had forgotten to shut it all the way, but for whatever reason, it was ajar.  I was just about to reassure myself that no one would want to waste their time on the (literal) junk in my trunk when I realized that the “junk” included my two cameras.

Before I had time to panic, I got to the trunk and saw that both cameras were intact.  In addition to making me tip my cap to karma, the incident also made me realize that, while I have been known to be dismissive of material possessions, I do, in fact, love my toys.

So regardless of what happens in 2012, in photography and in other areas of my life, I have to be thankful that my senior moment didn’t come with a huge price tag.  But while I am grateful to the residents of Santa Monica who passed by my car without looking in, you can believe that the next time, I’m shutting the damn trunk all the way!

Leave a Reply

