#5) DDDSS Day 1: A simulblog of a 24-hour experiment

8:19 am, PST

I once heard a story of a student who got kicked out of college for submitting the same paper to two different classes.

Good thing for me I’m not in college.

I suppose before I continue, some translation is in order.  I am calling this a “simulblog”, because it is going to be posted on two of my blogs: Nature Pic Mercenary and D-Theory.  It is also different in that it will be added to throughout the course of today, making it a sort of time-lapse.

DDDSS stands for: D-Lock Doesn’t Do Shutter Stock.  The gist is: I have decided to ban myself from Shutterstock for 24 hours, and in true obsessive-compulsive content geek form, I am blogging about it.  This is the first of I don’t know how many times I will impose a 24-hour restraining order on myself from a web site which with I have become a little bit obsessed.

As a provider of internet content, I have a presence on several sites, both blogging and stock photography oriented.  Shutterstock is the site on which I have had the most success with my nature pictures, but, as long-time readers of Nature Pic Mercenary will attest, it is also the one with which I have the most irrational fixation.  I check it compulsively: have my new pictures been accepted yet?  How many downloads have I had?

I liken Shutterstock to the super-hot girl that you have a secret crush on: You have to let her know you’re there, but if you’re constantly in her face, she’ll run away.  So while I will be continuing to maintain my presence on several other sites, Shutterstock and I will part company for the duration of today.  The good news is that I have already spent eight hours away successfully, with no withdrawals to report so far.  The bad news is that there are still sixteen to go – and I have to be awake for them.

11:37am

Almost half way through the day.  I have successfully avoided Shutterstock, although that’s not to say I’ve been all that productive.  At least, however, banning myself forces me to find new ways to be unproductive.

I did do some reorganizing of my photo files and records, and I submitted seven new pictures to Dreamstime.  Sometimes when the super hot chick is unavailable, her better than average looking friend can be a decent substitute.

12:45pm

Off to work!  Getting out of the apartment is never a bad thing, and I have a couple of neighborhood hikes planned in addition to my teaching schedule.  I have to keep things in perspective: as much as I want my content providing career, photographic and otherwise, to take off, right now, I typically earn more money in one hour of teaching music than I have to date from all of my internet ventures.  I just have to give it time–and not stalk the hot chick for fear of driving her away.

5:48pm

Got my teaching done, and took two short walks at suburban nature parks in Orange County: Huntington Beach’s Bartlett Park and Costa Mesa’s Canyon Community Park.  The second in particular was a pleasant surprise, with some wooded areas, sandstone geology and a small pond.

Of course, my stats were on my mind, and I eagerly checked up on Canstock and Dreamstime to see if any pics had been downloaded in my absence.  None, as of yet, but with a bunch of new pictures taken today, I’ll have some more stuff to upload.

9:58pm

I continued to flirt with the less-attractive friends of my true crush: I uploaded six more pictures to Canstock, including two from today, and submitted several to Big Stock Photo and 123rf, neither of which I had sent anything to for a while.  Even if I’m yet to have a download on either of those sites, it’s always interesting to get a cross-reference of which photos get accepted were.  And who knows – if I build my presence on some of the other sites, my number might come up.

Only two more hours to go!

7:51am (next day)

I ended up falling asleep before midnight, so when I woke up I reunited with Shutterstock.  I was disappointed that I hadn’t had any downloads since I last logged on, but it’s not the end of the world–hopefully more will come soon.

So was this experiment a success?  Yes, in that I concentrated on other areas that I would have had I spent time on Shutterstock yesterday; yes, in that although not all of my time was productive, I had to be a little more pro-active about my time wasting, but no in that “absence didn’t make [Shutterstock’s] heart go fonder” and no in that my relationship with that site – and the results of my work as an internet content provider – hasn’t become any more sane or rational.  (Case in point: I just referred to a web site as having a heart).

But if nothing else, it’s nice to know that I can put at least one of my obsessions on ice for 24 hours.

Leave a Reply

